Beginner's Guide to Face Textures

Codes.

This is a complete beginner's guide to preparing and using face textures from previous games. Disclaimer: In no way am I suggesting I'm better at this than anyone else, I'm only sharing what I've learned about texturing.

Part 1 Preparation:

Programs required:

Paint.net

Adobe Photoshop

To start off you're going to need to pick a texture from a previous game you want to use. So for example we are going to use Kurt Angle's face from SVR 2007.

14o1zl.jpg

Next you are going to want to open it in Paint.net

15p3877.png

Then you'll select the area you'll need to crop. To do this use the rectangle select tool and position it right before the hair, right after both of the sideburns before the ears and right below the jaw. (I usually crop twice to do this)

After that you'll want to press Image>Crop to Selection to crop it and you should have something like this:

2rzclsx.jpg

Next you'll want to erase the eyes and under the jaw and you'll have something like this:

ngrprr.png

After that you'll want to resize to 256x256.

Then, press Layers>Layer Properties. Here you'll change the opacity of the texture. If the texture is someone who is light skinned or black you'll want to change to opacity to 245. If they are extremely tanned use 240. You now should have something like this:

15nnbbq.png

Next you'll want to save as a PNG(or DDS if you have the Photoshop plug-in) and open it up in Adobe Photoshop.

359znz7.png

Then, click on the eraser tool. Change the size to 25 and the Hardness to 13.

Now, gently erase the around the texture and leave the jaw untouched unless it's a diva or they won't have facial hair in-game. You should have something like this:

2ldtw84.png

Next save as a PNG.

Then open back up in Paint.net and Save as a DDS and inject it into a Paint Tool file. Congrats you've prepared your face texture.

Your finished product should look something like this:

9adan8.png