06 > 07

Carpenter 16:9

I hadn't played SVR 06 since I got 07, and I started playing it again last week.. I traded my friend 07 for 06.

The hotspots were either overpowered or useless, and almost all of them were half-assedly re-hashed animations of moves from 2006. Same goes for all 12 of the UCM's. Speaking of, the entire set of UCM's was clearly favoring heavyweights or above.

On that topic, lets look at how screwed over anyone who wasn't a heavyweight was in that game. What the hell was up with that? I can understand the way it worked in '06, with some moves being unusable by some weight classes.. But extending that to striking was a bad, bad idea. It made the game almost unplayable for someone being a cruiswerweight, unless you took the time to figure out which moves worked and which didn't. Hell, the no-selling extended to moves that don't even have a sensible reason to be no-sold. Like the enziguri! Thats pretty much a signature move of lighter wrestlers, and somehow it dosen't work.. How would weight class POSSIBLY effect ones ability to get your kick caught and then pop the guy in the back of the head with your other foot?!

Oh, and lets not forget the new move list! Somehow it got reduced. Drastically. The submission department really took it on the chin here, but that isn't the only problem. Not only is the number of moves reduced, the available slots to put moves into has too! Instead of the clean/dirty moves as a neutral grapple, we now get "quick grapples" that are basically low damaging, unfairly difficult to reverse ( Unless your the AI? ) and rehashed moves that seemed to be an attempt to make up for the lacking set of main grapples.